Ten New Nuclear Reactors in India

The government of India has given approval for the installation of 10 new nuclear reactors in five states. The decision was made to enhance the country's nuclear power capacity and address its growing energy demands.

The reactors will be set up in the states of Maharashtra, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Karnataka. Power plants at Kaiga, Chutka, and Gorakhpur will each receive two new reactors. Meanwhile Mahi Banswara will see itself equipped with as many as four reactors. Other sites have also been approved ‘in principle’ by Indian authorities for future nuclear power plants.

The installation of these new reactors is expected to significantly boost India's nuclear power capacity. Nuclear energy is considered a clean and reliable source of electricity generation, and it plays a crucial role in reducing carbon emissions. With the increase in nuclear power capacity, India aims to meet its growing energy demands while also reducing its reliance on fossil fuels.

Source: India Today